Meeting Minutes for February 10, 2016 

ACBL Unit 143 Board of Directors

Attendees:  Linda Seibert, Pres., Mary Dolan, Vice-Pres., Jeff Kopolow, Treas., Mark Boswell, George Hawley, Lee Hastings,   Jay Shah, Helene Siegfried, Mark Ziegelman

Absentees:  Karen Erlanger, Becky Hubert, Debbie Romero

President’s Report:  Minutes of previous meeting were accepted for posting. Linda Seibert reported that Jack Bryant is resigning from Corresponding Secretary.  Deferred replacement discussion to end of meeting.  

Treasurer’s Report:  Jeff Kopolow reported that bidding boxes and dealing maching has been paid for.  He reviewed account status at year-end, noted adjustment to CDs to secure better returns.  Jeff noted that board should be aware of the adequate reserves. 

Tournament Business:  Brief review of January sectional results.  Results were close to break-even with small profit. General discussion of changing the novice tournament from 199 masterpoint limit to 299 masterpoint limit.  Motion was made and passed to change tournament to 299 masterpoint limit. Debbie Romero joined board meeting via telephone to explain proposed changes to the bracketed swiss at regional.  Motion made and passed to adopt the changes.

Old Business: None

Unit Games:  M Boswell reported that dates have been selected for the two unit games to replace the two that were cancelled.  Reported that he was in the process of securing the ACBL sanctions for these new games.

Website:  Helene  Siegfried reported on items of website maintenance performed over the past month. 

Education:  Mark Ziegelman proposed that board adjust camp scholarship to match the $10 increase in the camp fees.  Motion made and passed. 

New Business:  General discussion of Corresponding Secretary duties.  Pres. Seibert said she plans to bring the duties of Corresponding Secretary back on the board. 

Next meeting is March 9, 2016, at 7:00 p.m. at the Creve Coeur Government Center, Meeting Room 1

Meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Mary Dolan for Becky Hubert


Back to Top

Website and Content © 2003-2018, American Contract Bridge League of Greater St. Louis