July 8, 2015 


Meeting Minutes for July 8, 2015 

ACBL Unit 143 Board of Directors

Attendees:  Linda Seibert, Pres.; Mary Dolan, VP; Becky Hubert, Secy; Karen Erlanger, Lee Hastings, George Hawley, Jennifer Luner, Debbie Romero, Jay Shah, Helene Siegfried, Mark Ziegelman.  Absent:  Jeff Kopolow  Mike Carmen attended for Tournament discussion.

President Seibert called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.  Minutes of the May meeting were approved for posting; K. Erlanger moved to post, seconded by Shah.  Corresponding Secretary’s report was accepted for file.  Treasurer’s report was accepted for file.

Presidents Report:  No Report

Old Business:  No old business; committee reports followed.

Tournament Business:  The Board discussed the upcoming Regional at length, coordinating activities and reviewing plans.  Based on hotel reservations, a profit greater than last year is expected.

Publicity:  Romero reported publicity is complete and Sectional PR is underway.

Unit Games:  Dolan reported that Unit Games continue to have strong attendance; no further unit games will be held until September.

Website:  Luner reported updates.

Membership:  Hubert reported membership continues to grow steadily each month with current count at 1410.

Date Book:  Karen reported on communications with Club Directors.

Education:  The Board postponed further discussion on the topic until further study of the revised report provided to Board members by chair Mark

New Business: Nominating Committee.   Becky Hubert, Chair, reported the Committee, comprised of Peggy Wald and Mike Giacaman, reviewed the skills represented on the board and those that are needed for next year.  The Chair called those members whose terms were ending this year to see if the member wished to continue on the Board.  Those who were eligible to continue with another term were willing to do so.  Jennifer Luner who is ending her third consecutive term is ineligible to run for a Board position.  The Committee reviewed recommendations as well as discussed other potential members to fill this slot.  The Committee selected Mark Boswell to be on the slate.  Karen Erlanger moved to accept the slate and Helene Siegfried seconded the motion.  The motion was approved unanimously.  The four people on the Board approved slate are Mark Boswell, Mary Dolan, Jeff Kopolow and Mark Ziegelman.  The slate as well as information regarding submitting a petition for someone to run for a Board position will be posted on the website.

Next meeting is August 19, 2015 at 7:00 pm at the Olivette Community Center.

Seibert adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted by Becky Hubert




Back to Top

Website and Content © 2003-2019, American Contract Bridge League of Greater St. Louis